«

»

Feb
05

Advocacy Alert–Equity for HiCap Bill (SHB 2927)

The Equity for HiCap bill (SHB 2927) is in trouble. It needs to get onto the House Appropriations schedule by tomorrow. The bill passed unanimously through the Education Committee, so agreement is not the issue. It is a priority issue in that Appropriations has only so much time to hear bills before the deadline, and this bill needs to be slotted higher on the list.

Please Stop and Do These 3 Things Now:

1. We are urging everyone to stop what you are doing right now and contact Education Committee Chair Sharon Santos sharonTomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov and Appropriations Vice Chair June Robinson june.robinson@leg.wa.gov about SHB 2927. Sample e-mail below (although it’s always better to rewrite it in your own words):

To: sharonTomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov, june.robinson@leg.wa.gov
Subject: Urgent: Get SHB 2927 onto Appropriations Schedule
Body of E-mail:
Dear Ms. Santos, Dear Ms. Robinson:
The Equity for HiCap bill (SHB 2927) has still not been scheduled for appropriations. I am worried that it is going to miss the cut off. Can you please work with Rep. Timm Ormsby to get this on the appropriations hearing schedule ASAP? As you know, this is a very urgent issue for Seattle and will substantially improve equity–and long term, the achievement gap. Catching these students early will prevent disengagement, behavior problems, drop outs and kids lost to the prison pipeline, ultimately saving the state money–as well as being the right thing to do.
Sincerely,
[your name]

2. Have family and friends who live in Washington State send the same e-mail the following Appropriations Committee members (copy and paste into your “to” field):

Timm.Ormsby@leg.wa.gov, June.Robinson@leg.wa.gov, Bruce.Chandler@leg.wa.gov, Drew.MacEwen@leg.wa.gov, Drew.Stokesbary@leg.wa.gov, Steve.Bergquist@leg.wa.gov, Vincent.Buys@leg.wa.gov, Michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov, Eileen.Cody@leg.wa.gov, Cary.Condotta@leg.wa.gov, Joe.Fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov, Paul.Graves@leg.wa.gov, Larry.Haler@leg.wa.gov, Drew.Hansen@leg.wa.gov, Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov, Zack.Hudgins@leg.wa.gov, Laurie.Jinkins@leg.wa.gov, Ruth.Kagi@leg.wa.gov, Kristine.Lytton@leg.wa.gov, Matt.Manweller@leg.wa.gov, Eric.Pettigrew@leg.wa.gov, Gerry.Pollet@leg.wa.gov, David.Sawyer@leg.wa.gov, Joe.Schmick@leg.wa.gov, Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov, Larry.Springer@leg.wa.gov, Derek.Stanford@leg.wa.gov, Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov, David.Taylor@leg.wa.gov, Steve.Tharinger@leg.wa.gov, Brandon.Vick@leg.wa.gov, Mike.Volz@leg.wa.gov, JT.Wilcox@leg.wa.gov

3. In addition, if you have friends or family in the **Spokane** area, please have them call Appropriations Chair Timm Ormsby at (360) 786-7946, using that e-mail as a script, or send the same e-mail to him using this form:
https://app.leg.wa.gov/pbc/memberEmail/3/2

Spread the word TODAY!